BON IVER win Grammys

Bon Iver has won two awards at the 54th Grammy Awards – winning Best New Artist which was announced during the television broadcast of the ceremony. Nicki Minaj, Skrillex, J. Cole, and the Band Perry were all nominated for that award. Prior to television coverage, Bon Iver also won the Grammy for Best Alternative Music Album for their self-titled album, which was awarded before the ceremony They were up against Radiohead, Death Cab for Cutie, My Morning Jacket, and Foster the People.

In a generation where everyone with internet has a voice and where TV News chooses to quote completely random citizens twitter comments as if they carry some gravity, Cheese on Toast is amused highly by this Tumblr account (thanks Jack Riddell for the link).

The amusement doesn’t end there though, playing on the general populations ignorance; viz, the dismaying amount of people who confused Bon Iver with Bon Jovi – a band called Miracles of Modern Science have recorded a spoof under the name Bon Joviver – anIver-esque version of Bon Jovi’s “You Give Love a Bad Name” (and nailed it).

Bon Iver was also nominated for the Grammys for Record of the Year and Song of the Year for “Holocene”, but Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” in both categories.

Here is a list of other winners (incomplete)

Album of the Year: “21,” Adele
Record of the Year: “Rolling in the Deep,” Adele
Song of the Year: “Rolling in the Deep,” Adele Adkins & Paul Epworth
New Artist: Bon Iver
Pop Solo Performance: “Someone Like You,” Adele
Pop Performance by a Duo or Group: “Body and Soul,” Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
Pop Vocal Album: “21,” Adele
Alternative Album: “Bon Iver,” Bon Iver
Rock Song: “Walk,” Foo Fighters
Rock Album: “Wasting Light,” Foo Fighters
Rock Performance: “Walk,” Foo Fighters
Hard Rock/Metal Performance: “White Limo,” Foo Fighters
R&B Album: “F.A.M.E.,” Chris Brown
R&B Song: “Fool For You,” Cee Lo Green, Melanie Hallim & Jack Splash
R&B Performance: “Is This Love,” Corrine Bailey Rae
Traditional R&B Vocal Performance: “Fool For You,” Cee Lo Green & Melanie Fiona
Rap Album: “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy,” Kanye West
Rap Performance: “Otis,” Jay-Z and Kanye West
Rap Song: “All of the Lights,” Jeff Bhasker, Stacy Ferguson, Malik Jones, Warren Trotter & Kanye West
Rap/Sung Collaboration: “All of the Lights,” Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie
Dance Recording: “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites,” Skrillex
Dance/Electronica Album: “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites,” Skrillex
Folk Album: “Barton Hollow,” The Civil Wars
Pop Instrumental Album: “The Road From Memphis,” Booker T. Jones
Bluegrass Album: “Paper Airplane,” Alison Krauss & Union Station
Reggae Album: “Revelation Pt. 1: The Root of Life,” Stephen Marley
New Age Album: “What’s It All About,” Pat Metheny
Producer of the Year, Non-Classical: Paul Epworth
Remixed Recording, Non-Classical: “Cinema (Skrillex remix),” Sonny Moore
Spoken Word Album: “If You Ask Me (And Of Course You Won’t),” Betty White
Comedy Album: “Hilarious,” Louis C.K.
Compilation Soundtrack Album For Visual Media: “Boardwalk Empire,” various artists
Score Soundtrack Album For Visual Media: “The King’s Speech,” Alexandre Desplat

Share thisShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on RedditShare on TumblrShare on Google+Print this pageEmail this to someone

Cheese on Toast © 2015 All Rights Reserved

Cheese on Toast is based in Auckland, New Zealand and is owned and operated by Andrew Tidball

Web development by version