BILLY BRAGG announces new album

BILLY BRAGG has announced the release of his first new studio album in five years – titled Tooth & Nail. It will be released on 22 March 2013.

The new album will be released on CD, LP and a limited edition CD+DVD Bookpack.

It’s being touted as BILLY BRAGG’s most personal album to date – drawing on personal rather than political theres and was recorded over a ‘whirlwind’ 5 days with Grammy Award winning producer Joe Henry in his South Pasadena basement studio.

The press release for the new album indicates that Joe took Billy out of his comfort zone, recording all vocals live with no re-takes or overdubs and features a crew of musicians including Greg Leisz (Bon Iver), Patrick Warren (Lana Del Rey), Jay Bellerose (Regina Spektor) and David Piltch (Ramblin’ Jack Eliot). Bragg says that the result is a return to the rootsy sound of 1998’s Mermaid Avenue sessions her recorded with Wilco.

“In 2011, I took a long, hard look at who I am and what I do. This album is the result.” Bragg says.
“The songs on Tooth and Nail had their genesis in a comment that turned up in my twitter feed sometime in 2011. It said something like ‘Getting over break-up by listening to @billybragg, the Sherpa of Heartbreak’. It made me smile to think of my love songs doing some emotional heavy lifting for the heart-broken. Most people, when they hear my name, think of polemical anthems born in struggle. I often find myself having to remind people that I am also the Sherpa of Heartbreak, writing songs about the struggle to maintain our relationships with those we love the most.”

Watch the album announcement video here

Tracklisting and artwork for Tooth & Nail is as follows :

1. January Song
2. No One Knows Nothing Anymore
3. Handyman Blues
4. I Ain’t Got No Home (Woody Guthrie)
5. Swallow My Pride
6. Do Unto Others
7. Over You (Bragg/Henry)
8. Goodbye, Goodbye
9. There Will Be a Reckoning
10. Chasing Rainbows
11. Your Name On My Tongue (Bragg/Henry)
12. Tomorrow’s Gonna Be A Better Day

You can also signup for a free download of Handyman Blues at Billy’s website

Share thisShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on RedditShare on TumblrShare on Google+Print this pageEmail this to someone

Cheese on Toast © 2015 All Rights Reserved

Cheese on Toast is based in Auckland, New Zealand and is owned and operated by Andrew Tidball

Web development by version